Sunday, 8 December, 2019

Join The Band

Enter your email address to be sent a joining pack.

Quick Information

Corps Director
Oliver Richardson

(Send email)

or bookings 07855 791885

(Send email)

Emma Arnett
Musical Director
Pete Denton


Revolution Show Corps is a Show Band based in Queensbury, Bradford (UK). Comprising of a brass, percussion and dance section we combine to give a high-energy entertaining sound, and a visual production which combines movement, fun and most importantly enjoyable to watch. We pride ourselves on having a large and diverse reportiore driven by Competing but also ideal for engagements/bookings.

We are a section of Queensbury Scout Group and very proud of our roots.

We have a brass section which features trumpets, mellophones (similar to French horn), baritones and tuba basses.

A marching percussion section featuring snares, basses and multi toms.

A concert orchestral percussion section featuring marimba, xylophone, glockenspiel, vibraphone and auxiliary/percussion effects.

Finally we have a dance section called the \\\'colourguard\\\' and they use flags, equipment and dance to provide colour, visual effect, emotion and role-play.

We perform throughout the UK and Europe competing, performing at engagements, and doing tours.

Our aim:
To encourage the development of young people both physically and mentally.


History of the Youth Marching Band Activity in Queensbury


The marching band activity was introduced into Queensbury in 1980 by Group Scout Leader Roger Hyde. Known in its infancy as the \\\'Green Knights Drum Corps\\\' the band focused on the American style of marching rather than the traditional marching form as followed by other bands in the local area.

In 1983 the band became members of the British Youth Band Association and changed their name to Queensbury Scouts Marching Brass. Throughout the 80’s and 90’s the band were very successful competing across the country and often fielded a membership of over 50.

They have performed at many venues including the prestigious Wembley Arena, The Royal Albert Hall and NEC/NIA in Birmingham. Their other high profile performances include taking part in the pop video for Tanita Tikaram and an appearance on Last of the Summer Wine.

The band has not only toured the country through competitions but has also taken part in various parades and carnivals, both locally and nationally, including an appearance at The Great Yorkshire Show, Halifax Gala and Broughton Steam Rally. Along side this they have been involved in pre-match entertainment for the Rugby League World Club Challenge at Elland Road in 2005 and also football matches for Halifax Town and Bradford City. More formal parades have included St Georges Day, Remembrance Sunday, The Lord Mayor’s Civic Parade and many Royal British Legion events.

The band has travelled to Holland four times, taking part in Flower Festivals and playing at Theme Parks. One performance gave them the accolade of being the first British Band to appear since the end of the War. They have also been to France to be involved in the New Years Celebrations in Paris, which led them to play on the Trocadero with the Eiffel Tower as their backdrop. This was a follow on event from taking part in the London New Year Celebrations of 2004. In August 2007 the band travelled to Belgium where they played at the Menin Gate in Ypres.

The present day sees the band keeping its association with the Scouting Movement but changing its name and image in 2003 to Revolution Show Corps.

Past Bandmasters:
Roger Hyde + Instructors 1980
Mick Lane 1981 - 1984
David Wray 1985 - 1991
Trevor Biggs 1992 - 1994
Ian Martin 1995 - 1996
Terry Thurtle 1997 - 1999
Simon Ainge 2000
Trevor Biggs 2001 - 2002 
Instructors 2003 - 2008
Oliver Richardson 2009 - Present

Past Members of the Year \\\'Claire Trophy\\\' :
Oliver Richardson  2000
Phil Davies  2001
Rob Taylor  2002
Not awarded  2003 (due to not competing)
Helen Richardson  2004
Josiah Sulc  2005
Mark Thompson  2006
Michael Seymour  2007
Mathew Wrigley  2008
Natasha Tomkinson  2009
Megan Spencer  2010
Drumline 2011 - Patrick Whiteley, Aidan Varney, Adam Shaw, Daniel Cunningham, Joe Gatenby
Victoria Spencer  2012
Erin Varney 2013

Phillippa Levett 2015

Jack Clemson 2016 

Visual Member of the Year
Phillippa Spencer  2012
The \\\'tots\\\' Charlotte Biggs, Jasmine Bradley & Emily Haw 2013

Emily Haw 2015 

Rory Evans 2016

Musician Member of the Year
Rhianna Shaw  2012
The baritones - Josh Mouncey, Edward Thirkhill, Megan Mouncey & Lauren Herbert 2013 

scouts - be prepared...